See something you'd like to change or add, but you've never edited an open encyclopædia before? This overview was written to help absolute beginners get started.

Judges (Biblical book)

From A Storehouse of Knowledge
Jump to: navigation, search

Judges is the seventh book of the Old Testament. It is a work of history, continuing the early history of the Israelite nation after the death of Joshua. It covers the period before the Israelites were ruled by kings; instead, a series of judges would emerge to guide the people at times of need, commanding authority through wisdom, strength or leadership. These judges included Samson, Gideon and Deborah, the only female judge.

Judges is followed in the Old Testament by the book of Ruth, but the main arc of Israelite history is taken up in the first book of Samuel, in which the events that led towards the establishment of the era of kings and prophets are set in motion.

Books of the Bible
Old Testament
Pentateuch (Torah) GenesisExodusLeviticusNumbersDeuteronomy
History JoshuaJudgesRuthI SamuelII SamuelI KingsII KingsI ChroniclesII ChroniclesEzraNehemiahEsther
Wisdom Literature JobPsalmsProverbsEcclesiastesSong of Solomon
Major Prophets IsaiahJeremiahLamentationsEzekielDaniel
Minor Prophets HoseaJoelAmosObadiahJonahMicahNahumHabakkukZephaniahHaggaiZechariahMalachi
New Testament
The Gospels According to MatthewAccording to MarkAccording to LukeAccording to John
History Acts of the Apostles
Pauline Epistles RomansI CorinthiansII CorinthiansGalatiansEphesiansPhilippiansColossiansI ThessaloniansII ThessaloniansI TimothyII TimothyTitusPhilemon
General Epistles HebrewsJamesI PeterII PeterI JohnII JohnIII JohnJude
Prophecy The Revelation to John
Personal tools

visitor navigation
contributor navigation